More Bytown Blues Members Honoured As Ontario Colleges Name Their 2013 Award Winners

Posted on:

After a successful season for the Algonquin College Thunder men’s rugby team, three more Bytown Blues members have been recognized by the province, this time by the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association. The Thunder finished runner-up in the OCAA in the program’s third season, losing the final to Humber College 24-16 in a tightly contested final.

The OCAA’s rookie of the year was awarded to John Shaw. This caps a successful season in which Johnny has toured with Rugby Canada’s U18 squad to Romania, helped Ontario Blues U18 squad win the National Championship and make his senior men’s debut with the Blues.

New executive member Ryan Surgenor spent his summer this past year in Toronto interning with Rugby Canada, but returned to have an all star calibre season with the Thunder in the fall.

From the sidelines, Geoff Tomlinson was awarded the OCAA Coach of the Year. Geoff has been part of the Algonquin program since it’s infancy and in receiving the award, gives credit to all of the administration, players and coaches involved. “I’m very honoured to receive the award. I believe that it is a shared award as the players, the coaching staff and the Algonquin Athletic Administration all had an important role is making the program a success. The players – I cannot thank them enough for working hard to become ‘honest athletes’. To the staff: Coaches Shaw, Redican, O’Neill, Wheels, Grease, Flu and Workman – well done lads – a pleasure to work with you and learn from you.”

Congratulations to all for their performances this season.

Filed Under


 Twitter  Facebook  Google+

Feature Sponsor