Blues Club and Player Awards

Gary Watson Award:

The Gary Watson award, originally called the club person of the year award was re-named in remembrance of him shortly after he passed away after a club tour to New Zealand in 1977. The award represents the hardest worker in the club. It is not for the best player, but is awarded to a person in the club that has put a lot of work into the club, both on and off the field.

John Biewald Award:

The John Biewald award is given to the active member who displays sportsmanship and dedication to rugby.

Doug McDonald Award: (Men’s 1st XV MVP)

Doug McDonald was not a founding member of the BBRFC, but rather THE founding member of the Bytown Blues. After a lengthy departure from the game due to professional commitments throughout the eighties, he returned to coach the Blues and the EORU Senior Men’s squad in the early nineties, leading the EORU on their first ever tour abroad – Europe 1994. Many Blues were selected for that tour and the team’s record was two wins from three games against Holland, Llanelli and Rugby Lions. We lost Doug a few short years later. The Doug McDonald Award is a memorial award presented to the First Team’s Most Valuable Player.

John Russell Award:

Presented to the club player who represents the club at the highest level of representative rugby in the current year.

Player Awards (Senior Men):

    • 2nd XV MVP

    • 3rd XV MVP

    • Most Improved Player

    • New senior mens member of the year

    • Rookie to mens